Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy returns

Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy (SCT) – the world’s most luxurious surfing event – has returned in all its thrilling glory to Four Seasons Resorts Maldives local break, Sultans.

From August 6 to 12, six surfing legends will once again line-up in a battle of the boards across the contest’s unique single, double and triple-fin event format for the chance to compete in the grande final and take the coveted SCT title.

Lining up in epic style this year are surfing superstar and radical aerialist Bruce Irons from Hawaii; World Tour all-rounder Josh Kerr from Australia, razor-sharp backhand attacker Fred Patacchia Jr from Hawaii, multiple Maldivian Champion Abdulla ‘Fuku’ Areef, 2001 WSL Champion CJ Hobgood from the US, and fiercely competitive high-energy Alejo Muniz from Brazil.

The opening ceremony was held on Tuesday at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa in the presence of Faruhath Jaleel, Vice President of Sports Council, Ali Zaki, Director General at the Ministry of Youth and Sports, and Aishath Ali, Director General and Acting Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Tourism.

Unique in many ways, the Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy determines a surfer’s heat time based on their age and tests skill across three different divisions: single-fin, twin-fin, and triple-fin thruster. Places are granted by invitation-only to just six surf champions in a battle for inner-circle kudos and the US$25,000 prize winnings.

The Surfing Champions Trophy is hosted onboard Four Seasons Explorer – the Maldives’ ultimate surf vessel. Fans can get up close to the action with onboard VIP passes, while the ‘surf tour’ experience continues with shoulder-rubbing events back at Four Seasons Resort Kuda Huraa, which plays host to the contest’s competitors, judges and Tropicsurf partners.

Facebook Comments Box